This year, the Austin Asian American Film Festival will hand out Audience and Jury Awards in four categories: Best Narrative Feature, Best Documentary Feature, Best Narrative Short, and Best Documentary/Experimental Short. Films in competition are eligible for both Audience and Jury Awards; films out of competition are eligible only for the Audience Award. The Audience Awards will be selected by viewers via ballots handed out at each screening, and the Jury Awards by a panel of film professionals and community leaders.

Jury Award winners in the Narrative Short and Documentary/Experimental Short categories will receive cash prizes of $250. All shorts in competition are eligible for this prize, which will be announced with the rest of the awards at the closing night party on Sunday, December 10th.


Narrative Features
Chee and T (dir. Tanuj Chopra, USA)
The Future Perfect (dir. Nele Wohlatz, Argentina)
Wexford Plaza (dir. Joyce Wong, Canada)

Documentary Features
95 and 6 to Go (dir. Kimi Takesue, USA)
Mixed Match (dir. Jeff Chiba Stearns, Canada)
Resistance at Tule Lake (dir. Konrad Aderer, USA)
Who is Arthur Chu? (dirs. Scott Drucker, Yu Gu, USA)

All short films in the AAAFF 2017 lineup are in competition.